Community Fund Committee

The committee is made up of voluntary community representatives who have ultimate responsibility for the fund strategy and delivery.

The fund committee concept places communities at the heart of the decision-making process and has a key role in providing leadership within the community, and in ensuring the funds are used to facilitate sustainable community development and climate action. The Fund Committee comprises of:

• Representatives for the Developers SSE Renewables / FuturEnergy Ireland

• Volunteer Community Representatives

Donnan Harvey

Donnan has had a notable career serving in several roles as the project manager of Letterkenny Cathedral Quarter and committee member of Letterkenny Tidy Towns. He is also involved in community work as member of the Letterkenny Community Centre, which provides a range of community services and programmes.



Florence Blackburn

Florence has extensive experience in community work and is deeply committed to making positive change in the local community. She is a member of the Isaac Butt Heritage Committee, Glenfin and has over thirty years' experience and knowledge working with local community and voluntary committees.



Francis Coyle

Francis has played a critical role in shaping and supporting community initiatives as Director of Planning and Economic Development at Donegal County Council. He was Secretary to the Donegal Task Force for Peace and Reconciliation and a Member of Audit & Risk Committee at Donegal ETB and the Isaac Butt Heritage Committee.



Frank Kelly

Frank has extensive experience in community and rural development, having delivered several EU and National Funding programmes that have supported Donegal communities for many years. Frank currently holds the positions of Board Member of FLAG (Fisheries Local Action Group) and is a member of the Curragh Athletic FC committee.



Jim Crowley

Jim is chairperson of the Cappry Residents Group and is a dedicated community leader for many years. He has had a forestry career since 1968 and served the Department of Forest and Wildlife from 1968 to1988 and Coillte from 1989 to 2015. He formerly chaired Cappry Rovers Football Club and the Twin Towns Community band.



Gwendoline Furey

Gwendoline is Principle of Scoil Taobhóige since 2014 and has extensive expertise within the community. She holds many positions in local community projects and initiatives, such as Chairperson of Cúram Leanaí An Clochán and Coiste Slí Taobh an Mhuilinn, Treasurer of Ionad Pobail Colmcille and Member of Pleanáil Teanga An Ghaeltacht Láir Committee.

Heather Cassidy

Heather is Community Engagement Officer for Northwest Alzheimer Society of Ireland (ASI). ASI deliver a range of services locally in Cloghan, Ballybofey and Letterkenny from our County office based in Ballybofey. She has broad ranging experience in the community voluntary sector in project management of funded projects and programmes.

Anne Walshe (FuturEnergy Ireland)

Anne is Stakeholder Manager at FuturEnergy Ireland, where she has worked on both large and small-scale electricity generation projects throughout Ireland for over 25 years. She was involved in the establishment of a successful community benefit fund in Sliabh Bawn wind farm. Currently, she involved in developing community benefit funds for several new projects.

Annette Duffy (SSE Renewables)

Annette has 24 years' experience in the non-profit sector in management and front-line service provision. She has worked across education, training and employment, as well as enterprise and social enterprise. Her contributions span local, regional and national programmes and initiatives. She holds a MA in Community Development.



Kieran Doherty

Kieran is currently the chairperson of Ballybofey and Stranorlar Integrated Community Company (BASICC), leading the strategic vison for the Base Enterprise Centre in Stranorlar. He has been actively involved in community development for over 15 years, contributing his expertise and dedication to a wide range of community projects.



Liam Mailey

Liam has dedicated his career to the Military Police with the Irish Defence Forces until his retirement. He is an active member of many local committees including the Convoy Arsenal, Boxing Club, Community Games Committee and most significantly the Chairperson of the Convoy Community & Environmental Committee.



Patsy McGonagle

Patsy has had a distinguished career serving as Chair of Finn Valley Swimming Pool and Athletics Club, board member Finn Valley and outgoing chair of DLDC. He was team coach with Donegal GAA for 2 terms and team leader at Irish Olympic / Athletics between1999 and 2017. He is retired head of Sport at ATU and Commandant in the Reserve Defence Forces.



Joseph Gallinagh

Joseph is principal of Glenswilly National School. He is focused on enhancing community energy efficiency and promoting environmental education. His career began in community work in 2001 in Dublin as an educational representative. Since 1998, he has been involved with Cumann na mBunscol committees.

* Photographs and information contained in above profiles may not be published in any form without obtaining written permission from the individual in advance.